B P Singh

NCCSD’s President

Hon’ble Justice B P Singh, formerly Judge, Supreme Court of India and President of The Environmental & Consumer Protection Foundation (ECPFO), New Delhi.

Patrons of the Council

Dr. M. S. Swaminathan Dr. M. S. Swaminathan, M.P.
Nathu Puri Prof. Nathu Puri, Chairman, Puri foundation for Education in India,
Shri Kantisen Shroff Shri Kantisen Shroff, the Veteran NGO,
Shri Parshottam Rupala Shri Parshottam Rupala, Member of parliament
Dr. Y. S. Rajan Dr. Y. S. Rajan, the distinguished Scientist, ISRO

Council Members

Ashwin Shroff Shri Ashwin Shroff , Vivekanand Research Training Institute (VRTI), Kutchh & Chairman & Managing Director, Excel Industries Ltd, Mumbai
Er. Anuj Sinha Er. Anuj Sinha,  Formerly Head  -  Vigyan Prasar, New Delhi
Prof. Mukul Asher Prof. Mukul Asher, LKY School of Public Policy, Singapore
Dr. Govind Hariharan Dr. Govind Hariharan, Chair and Professor, Coles college of Business, Kennesaw State University, Kennesaw,  USA
V V Sadamate Shri V V Sadamate, Advisor  (Agriculture)– Planning Commission, New Delhi
S. K. Nanda Shri S. K. Nanda IAS, Additional Chief Secretary, Government of Gujarat
Dr. A. R. Pathak Dr. A. R. Pathak, Vice Chancellor, Navsari Agricultural University, Navsari, Gujarat
Bharat Patel Shri Bharat Patel, CEO at BP Energy & Environmental Consultants, LLC, New Jersey, USA
Vijoy Kumar Mr. Vijoy Kumar, formerly Chairman Uttar Pradesh Electricity Regulatory Commission, New Delhi
Ashwini Puri Shri Ashwini Puri, Puri Foundation for Education in India, Gandhinagar
Narayan Patel Shri Narayan Patel, Environmentalist, Gujarat
Dr. Dipayan Dey Dr. Dipayan Dey, Chair, South Asian Forum for Environment (SAFE), West Bengal
Dr. Sanjay Deshmukh Dr. Sanjay Deshmukh, Professor, Life Science Department, Mumbai University, Mumbai
Dr. R. V. Rao Dr. R. V. Rao, Director, IDPS, Vishakapatnam
Dr. Mohamed Behnassi Dr. Mohamed Behnassi, Associate Prof. of Ibn Zohr University of Agadir, Morocco
Dr. V. P. Dimri Dr. V. P. Dimri, Distinguished Scientist, Council of Scientific and Industrial Research (CSIR), Banglore
Dr. Kinkini Dasgupta Misra Dr. Kinkini Dasgupta Misra, Scientist-E, Vigyan Prasar, New Delhi
Dr Ravish C Maheshwari Dr Ravish C Maheshwari, Former VC, Sardarkrushinagar-Dantiwada Agricultural University
Dr. Arunachalam, Principal Scientist (Forestry)Division of Natural Resources ManagementIndian Council of Agricultural Research, New Delhi

Executive Chairman

Dr. Kirit N Shelat Dr. Kirit N Shelat, IAS (Rtd) and formerly Principal Secretary, Government of Gujarat

Honorary Secretary

Dr. R Gopichandran Dr. R Gopichandran, Director, Vigyan Prasar

Joint Honorary Secretaries

CDR Ashish Mittal CDR Ashish Mittal, Indian navy, New Delhi
Shri Shalin Shah Shri Shalin Shah, Nccsd, Ahmedabad

An International Conference on “Global Warming, Agriculture, Sustainable Development & Public Leadership” was organized at the Gujarat Vidyapeeth – Ahmedabad in March 2010 by the International School for Public Leadership along with other organizations. This was in response to a felt need to strengthen agriculture’s niche as an integrated intervention to tackle mitigation and adaptation challenges while complementing other sustainable development initiatives. The Conference had the benefit of significant insights from about 400 participants including some eminent public leaders, agricultural scientists, teachers, students, farmers, NGOs, Industry, Government officials and representation from national and international organizations. The outcome of this conference is known as the “Ahmedabad Declaration 2010”. The Ahmedabad Declaration articulated an action plan to promote sustainable livelihood and simultaneously mitigate impacts of global warming through appropriate use of agriculture; involving public leadership in that task.

This was followed by a meeting of a “Think Tank” on these aspects in New Delhi in April 2010. Representatives from international organizations, Officers from Govt. of India, distinguished scientists and representatives of the civil society organizations further deliberated on these and related issues. During this meet, it was decided to constitute a voluntary organization to facilitate action and implement activities that are strategically important to enable sustainable development in addition to mainstreaming agriculture as a mitigation option. The International School for Public Leadership (ISPL) Ahmedabad, Puri Foundation for Education in India, Gandhinagar, Shroff Family Voluntary Organization Consortium (SFVOC), Mumbai and The Environmental & Consumer Protection Foundation (ECPFO), New Delhi, jointly agreed to promote the new organization. Accordingly, Justice B.P. Singh, President of Environmental & Consumer Protection Foundation (ECPFO), New Delhi, announced the setting up of the “National Council for Climate Change, Sustainable Development and Public Leadership” (NCCSD)”.

E-mail :